Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drug Education and Prevention Coalition


The Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drug Education and Prevention Coalition is a community-wide collaborative of individuals, campus departments and community members interested in taking action for a healthier, safer campus environment.

Co-Chaired by Teresa Johnston, Director, Center for Young Adult Addiction and Recovery and Diane Walker, Assistant Dean for Conduct and Compliance & Director of Student Conduct and Academic Integrity. The coalition meets quarterly to discuss programming, policy, research, education, grants and environmental issues and to support campus wide initiatives.

For more information on the ATOD Coalition or getting involved, please contact us at

List of current ATOD Committees & Members


  • The Grants Committee researches, writes and collaborates grants for ATOD funding and research.

    Chair: Teresa Johnston, MA, LPC, MAC
    (470) 578-2538
  • The Environmental Committee collaborates with local leaders to limit student access to alcohol and other drugs, and support the efforts of local law enforcement. Investigates, coordinates and facilitates interaction with the greater Collegiate Community, including Cobb County, City of Kennesaw, private business owners etc. Suggest changes for review and partnering in community.

    Chair: Michael Sanseviro, Ph.D.
    (470) 578-6310

  • The Programming Committee collaborates on programs aimed at students displaying signs of distress to awareness activities aimed at groups known to be at higher risk for engaging in problem behaviors, and to health protection programs that aim to minimize the harm incurred by problem behaviors. Develops, plans, organizes, implements and evaluates Alcohol and Other Drug programming on the college campus.  Programs include but are not limited to workshops, events tables, event speakers, etc.

  • The Policy and Procedure Committee reviews current policy and procedures, stays abreast of cultural issues as they relate to policy and procedure, and reviews best practice and research in area of policy and procedures. The Committee also makes recommended changes to Coalition and coordinates the Biennial review.

    Chair: Diane Walker
    (470) 578-3403